The Episcopal Diocese of Connecticut

The Anglican Communion

Anglican CommunionThe Anglican Communion is a global fellowship of 38 autonomous national and regional Churches plus six extra provincial Churches and dioceses; all of which are in Communion - in a reciprocal relationship - with the Archbishop of Canterbury, who is the Communion's spiritual head.


There is no Anglican central authority such as a pope or a "confession" or other document that must be signed. The four "Instruments of Unity" of the churches include:

  • The Lambeth Conference (all bishops meet every 10 years)
  • Anglican Consultative Council (lay persons, deacons, priests, and bishops, elected)
  • Primates' Meeting (all bishops who head provinces)
  • Archbishop of Canterbury (England)

Communion life, however, is primarily found in the relationships between Anglicans at all levels of church life and work around the globe; dioceses linked with dioceses, parishes with parishes, people with people, all working to further God’s mission. These Christian brothers and sisters share prayer, resources, support and knowledge across geographical and cultural boundaries.