The Episcopal Diocese of Connecticut

The Episcopal Church

The Episcopal Church shieldThe Episcopal Church is part of the Anglican Communion, and includes 109 dioceses in 17 nations. Established shortly after the American Revolution, has its roots in the Anglican Church. The Anglican Church, known as the Church of England, had a strong following in colonial America. But when the colonies won their independence, the majority of America’s Anglican clergy refused to swear allegiance to the British monarch as was required. As a result, the Episcopal Church was formed. Samuel Seabury, of Connecticut, was its first bishop.

The mission of God, in which the church is privileged to participate, as stated in the Book of Common Prayer’s catechism (p. 855), is "to restore all people to unity with God and each other in Christ."

The Most Rev. Michael B. Curry, previously Bishop of the Diocese of North Carolina, is the 27th Presiding Bishop of the Episcopal Church. He is chief pastor to the Episcopal Church's 2.1 million members in 17 countries and 109 dioceses, ecumenical officer, and primate, joining leaders of the other 38 Anglican Provinces in consultation for global good and reconciliation. Curry was elected at the 27th General Convention on June 27, 2015 and invested at Washington National Cathedral on November 1, 2015.