The Episcopal Diocese of Connecticut


In 2016, the Episcopal Church reorganized into six geographic Regions - formerly 14 deaneries -  "to establish efficient and sustainable spaces for collaboration, sharing of best practices, formation, and fellowship that is focused on serving God’s mission." Today, each Region has its own Region Leadership Team (RLT) and a Region Missionary (RM). The Regions each gather at least once annually in Convocations, and may hold other events/offer other opportunities.

(What's my Region? Link here) 

Regions in the Episcopal Church in Connecticut:

What is a Region?

A Region is the common witness of a geographic area in ECCT.

  • There are six geographic Regions
  • Each Region provides a lay and clergy person to serve as member of the Mission Council.
  • Each Region establishes its own leadership structure
  • Each Region will have a Region Missionary (funded by the ECCT)
  • Each Region will meet at least once a year to raise up members for the Mission Council, and meet more often as the Region determines.

What is a Region Missionary?

A Region Missionary has the assignment of helping the people, parishes, worshiping communities and Ministry Networks in a Region to catalyze, connect, convene and build capability. They can be lay or ordained. Note: These are "Region Missionaries," not "Regional." 

For more information and an introduction to the Region Missionaries, please click here.