The Episcopal Diocese of Connecticut


Governance of the Episcopal Church in Connecticut (ECCT) includes bishops, an annual convention, a council, canonically required committees, and the Constitution & Canons of ECCT as well as those of The Episcopal Church.

The ecclesiastical authority for the Episcopal Church in Connecticut (ECCT) is its diocesan bishop, currently the Rt. Rev. Ian T. Douglas. In that person's absence, authority lies with the bishop suffragan first in order of ordinations, currently, the Rt. Rev. Laura J. Ahrens; next, the bishop suffragan second in ordination, and in the absence of any other bishops, authority lies with the Standing Committee, an elected committee of lay and clergy members.

The business of the Diocese is conducted at an annual convention, held in October or November. All canonically resident clergy are required to attend and each parish elects two delegates who attend. Both lay and ordained participate in deliberations and vote on resolutions including the budget.

Between sessions of the convention, a Mission Council meets to conduct the business of ECCT. (This superseded an Executive Council, which ended June 30, 2016) . Members are selected from the six geographic Regions through a process determined by the Region and include one clergy and one lay from each. In a profound structural change from the prior Executive Council, nine additional members are from Ministry Networks, elected at the annual convention starting in 2016. The Mission Council makes decisions, between conventions, for the whole of ECCT and its participation in God's mission. Mission Council members serve staggered three-year terms.

There is a quarterly Leadership Gathering of members from the Mission Council, Commission on Ministry, board of Donations & Bequests, and Standing Committee. Held on Saturdays, members of each group meet jointly for a morning session, then after Eucharist and lunch, break into separate groups in the afternoon to conduct their specific work.

ECCT has its own Constitution and Canons that govern our common life. 

Governance of The Episcopal Church

The Episcopal Church - of which ECCT is a part - is headed by a presiding bishop, or primate, currently the Most. Rev. Michael B. Curry. The business of The Episcopal Church is conducted at triennial General Conventions. Each diocese elects up to four clergy and four lay deputies to attend the General Convention as members of a "House of Deputies," take part in its deliberations, and vote on resolutions. Bishops attend and participate as a "House of Bishops." The Episcopal Church has an elected Executive Council that meets between sessions of the General Convention.

The Episcopal Church has its own Constitution and Canons, which supersede ECCT canons in cases of conflict. Link here PDF; link here html. Spanish version still in process (jan 2019).