The Episcopal Diocese of Connecticut

General Convention 2018

General Convention is the triennial meeting of the 100 domestic and more than a dozen overseas dioceses in The Episcopal Church. The 79th General Convention of The Episcopal Church was held July 5-13 in Austin Texas. Link to official site here


Following the 2018 session, the following were appointed to serve the Church in the next triennium:

Appointed to Task Forces of General Convention (2018-2021)

  • The Rev. Tracy Johnson Russell, Rector of St. Monica's, Hartford: Task Force to Study Sexism in The Episcopal Church and Develop Anti-Sexism Training
  • The Rt. Rev. Laura J. Ahrens, Bishop Suffragan of ECCT: Task Force to Develop Model Sexual Harassment Policies and Safe Church Training (Vice-Chair)
  • The Rt. Rev. Ian T. Douglas, Bishop Diocesan of ECCT: Task Force on Women, Truth, and Reconciliation
  • Canon Robin Hammeal-Urban, Canon for Mission Integrity & Training: Task Force on Women, Truth, and Reconciliation
  • The Rev. Timothy Hodapp, Canon for Mission Collaboration: Task Force on Formation and Ministry of the Baptized
  • The Rev. Ranjit K. Mathews, rector of St. James', New London: Task Force on Dialogue with South Sudanese Anglican Diaspora
  • The Rev. Stephanie Johnson, rector of St. Paul's, Riverside: Task Force on Care of Creation and Environmental Racism (Chair)

Appointed to Standing Commissions of The Episcopal Church (2015-2021)

  • The Rev. Dr. Molly James, ECCT Dean of Formation: Standing Commission on Structure, Governance, Constitution and Canons (Chair, 2018-2021; served as Secretary 2015-2018)

In addition: 

  • Bishop Ahrens serves on the General Board of Examining Chaplains and on the Joint Nominating Committee for the Election of a Presiding Bishop;
  • Bishop Douglas serves on the Provincial Leadership Council (representing Province One);
  • the Rev. Carlos de la Torre (ECCT Southwest Region Missionary) was appointed to the House of Deputies Committee on the State of the Church; and
  • the Very Rev. Miguelina Howell, Dean of Christ Church Cathedral, Hartford, continues to serve as a Chaplain for the House of Bishops.